August Favourites 2016

August has definitely been a month for favourites so I’ll try not to ramble too much!

Books:

I’ve mentioned this book before but I finally got around to finishing it this month. The Collector is one of the most mesmerizing books I’ve ever read and it will stay with me for a long time. I did a full review of this book over on My Trending Stories and you can read it here.

I didn’t manage to get my hands on the new Harry Potter book till the beginning of August but it was definitely worth the wait. Even though I have mixed feelings about some of the things in the book, overall, I really enjoyed it. It brought the magic of Harry Potter truly back into my heart and is a must have for any Harry Potter fans.
 
Movies:
 

I saw Finding Dory at the beginning of this month and I was expecting a very childish movie but I couldn’t have been more wrong. Although it is a kid’s film it is so, so enjoyable for people my age who had Finding Nemo in their childhood. I though the film plot was so good and it was such an easy, enjoyable watch.

I read The BFG when I was younger and was so intrigued when I saw they were releasing a film. It was quite long for a movie aimed at children but it was genius. It was so good, the screenplay was incredible and I loved it so much. The plot was easy to follow and it made me laugh a lot.

Suicide Squad has such mixed reviews but I loved it so, so much. I really liked all the characters and found it so interesting throughout. There was constant action and always something to focus on. I wasn’t really a fan of the ending but the rest of the film was so good.
 

TV:

Casualty’s 30th anniversary aired at the end of August and this was the best piece of television I have watched in a long time. It was a feature length event and every single minute was incredible. The script writers, directors, designers and actors did a phenomenal job. There was a twist at the beginning I definitely wasn’t expecting and from then on the episode was incredible. Amanda Mealing again demonstrated why she’s created such a dedicated fan following with her beyond incredible portrayal of Connie; the emotion and realness of her performance showed the immense amount of talent she holds. Charles Venn also delivered an incredible performance as did Jaye Griffiths.

I am such trash for Keeping up with the Kardashians and I’ve watched so much of it this month. I’m fully caught up on season 12 now and am looking forward to the rest of the season. I just like this because it’s such an easy watch and, personally, I find it really enjoyable.
 

Beauty:
 

I’ve been loving brown eyeliner in my waterline and in my tightline. It’s not as harsh as black and just helps gives my eyes more definition. I’ve been loving the brown one from Avon’s Colourtrend range; it lasts all day and is so soft to apply.
 
I got this palette for my Dad’s wedding then sort of neglected it after that. I picked it back up again this month and I love it. It’s the makeup revolution iconic pro 3 and I believe it’s a dupe for the Naked 3. The colours are so pigmented and really easy to blend. I love the grey side the most as the colours are just so beautiful. This palette is only £4 and I’d 100% recommend it. You get more than your money’s worth.


 
I’ve mentioned one of the Sunkissed eyeshadows before but I found the other two this month and I love them. They’re so pigmented and they blend so easily. For the price these are honestly incredible. I use the one on the left on the outer half and the one on the right just to contour out my eye.
 
This eyeshadow is from MUA and I’ve been loving it; it’s from their matte range and is in the shade ‘fudge’. It’s not the most pigmented eyeshadow but I’ve been loving it for an all over lid colour. It evens out the colouring on my eyelids and just gives a perfect base, plus, it’s only £1!


 
Again from MUA I’ve been loving this Undress Your Skin highlighter, mine’s the pink one. It gives such a healthy glow to the skin and is so pigmented. I love the colour of this and it just applies so easily.
 
I got this bronzer for free and I honestly love it so much. It’s the Miss Sporty Insta Glow and it definitely does give a glow. It has a slight shimmer to it which has been perfect for the summer and just gives the skin a healthy glow. It blends so easily into your skin and, for me, this is the perfect shade.

Finally for makeup, I finally bit the bullet and got my first liquid lipstick, this is the one from Sleek in Birthday Suit. This is so nice, I really love the shade and the consistency of this. It dries completely matte and isn’t too drying; honestly, you need to apply lip balm and then apply this but it’s still so good. After loving this I want to try loads more liquid lipsticks!

 
I lost my blistex when travelling this month and honestly thought it was the end of the world because I’m trying to use things up at the moment and not buy anything else. I started using this Nivea one again and I love it. It makes my lips feel so smooth and doesn’t sit on top of my lips. I’d definitely recommend this.

 
I got this Clinique mini moister surge early this month and I am in love. It’s more of a gel rather than a cream so doesn’t feel as heavy on the skin. It sinks in so easily and makes my skin feel so smooth and just really nice. It doesn’t really have a scent which I like because I’m never sure about putting things on my face with a strong scent. I’ve been really enjoying this and a little goes a long way so this should last me a long time.

2 thoughts on “August Favourites 2016

Leave a Reply

